top of page

How Will a Cue Make Teaching Easier? (82/365)

For far too long, I believed I was supposed to reach a set goal. Unfortunately, I also applied this thinking to two decades worth of students in my time as a teacher, turned principal.

This mistake was one that was passed on to me, as a student turned teacher turned principal. This was baked into the existing education system. Three years ago, I experienced several tough-to-reach/tough-to-teach students. Professionally, I was hitting rock-bottom. Meeting a staff member who was a firm believer in the idea that "Behavior is communication" shifted my mindset from "glass-half-empty" to a "glass-half-full".


It was then that I'd started to recognize the value of building habits with adolescents.

Understanding the power of the cue in behavior loops, I was determined to learn how this was a key to unlocking adult frustration while unleashing student progress. Diving into the research of Charles Duhigg and the wisdom of Dr. Ross Greene, set my foundation. Discovering James Clear not only changed how I work, but also, how I live.


I had to make a choice. Stick to goal setting and keep getting the same result. Invest in habit building, and watch how students benefit from a positive behavior flywheel effect.


A strong feedback loop begins with a cue. What does an educator need to know about this?


Dive into understanding how habit formation works

Habits are behaviors repeated enough times until they become automatic. Habits solve problems with as little effort and energy as possible. Educators can explore this idea with adolescents by asking them about every day morning or evening routines. Each morning: Waking up, showering and eating breakfast. Collecting the materials they'll need for school. And traveling to school by their family's preferred method. Each evening: Completing homework, eating dinner, preparing for the next day, and engaging in a bedtime ritual. Identifying and "auditing" when and time dedicated to each activity will reveal areas to address. Leave parts of the schedule alone that seem to be working. And identify those potential "problem areas" that with the proper cue, may improve, and drastically, with time.


Prioritize the area to be addressed. Consider cues that may work.


One simple habit I've successfully built is to drink more water. Each night, I leave a 32 ounce cup full of water next to the coffee pot. The first thing I do when I enter the kitchen each morning? Power up the coffee pot. And drain 32 ounces of water. Those of us who know adolescents understand how they may "forget" to brush their teeth. If we're being honest, we know how adolescents love their digital devices. Want to see your middle schooler brush their teeth twice a day at home? Keep the cell phone charger in the kitchen. And put the toothbrush and toothpaste next to it. First, brush your teeth. Second, grab your device. (Swap out tooth brushing as the cue and device use as the reward, but you get the idea.)


When "the context becomes the cue", it's time to celebrate. Then repeat.

"Make it obvious" is the first law of behavior change. The commitment statement involved is, “I will…” [Behavior] at [Time] in [Location]. With this critical first step in place, consider experimenting with habit stacking ("After [current habit], I will [new habit].") Gradually, habits become associated not with one single prompt, but with the entire context surrounding the behavior. For example, when I walk into the kitchen before sunrise, almost instantaneously, I'm drinking water, then coffee, and then making my way into my home gym for a workout.

Adopting a habits-based behavioral approach with students has improved my outlook and approach to school. While I accept that I can't make up for errors of the past, I use cues to kick start my own habit loop, driving a process that empowers adolescents with tools for life.




This is part three of a ten-part blog series, based on the book, Atomic Habits by James Clear.


12 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page