top of page

Will You Choose to Make Today, Great? (2/365)

“Make it a great day, or not, the choice is yours.”


This is our daily morning sign-off over the school’s public address system. It’s the outgoing message to students, to staff, and quite honestly, to the person (usually me) reciting the daily announcements.


Today, I didn’t make any announcements.




Because, today, I had a day off, in fact, my first day off in quite awhile, when I knew students and staff wouldn’t be in the school building.


Today, it was up to me, whether or not I’d make it a great day. And while that’s the case every day, today would be void of the “politics of distraction” that accompanies being an educator today.


So what did I do? Did I choose to “make it a great day”?


I did. Here’s how.

  1. I began today as I always do, with 32 ounces of water.

  2. While the coffee was on, I logged a daily journal entry (which I typically do not do in the morning, but today was different, because I was home).

  3. I enjoyed a challenging workout, while listening to one of my favorite podcasts, a new episode of which launches each Monday.

  4. I read my daily page quota, from a book, with pages made of paper. The book is “strictly” interest and joy-related, on a topic completely unrelated to work.

  5. I sat poolside only taking a break to swim or play a yard game with my sons. (Or, to pet the dog or to watch our backyard chickens freely explore the yard.)

  6. I ate healthful and nutritious meals, as I do each day, while hydrating regularly.

  7. I enjoyed a delicious meal with my family, one that requires minimal cleanup, since it’s “clean summer eating”.

  8. I watched one of my boys play the sport he loves, for a coach and with teammates who he respects, outdoors on a warm summer night.

  9. After a homemade dinner, I ended my night with some tasty dessert, made lovingly by my kids.

  10. And then, we watched reruns of a favorite show, dozing, while waiting for the older ones to get home from hanging out with friends.

Ah, summer days.

Today, like most days, I can honestly say I chose to make it great.



Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page