top of page

Building Blocks: My Writing Challenge Update (150/365)

Today (and maybe tomorrow), I'm just going to write.


I'm picking up one block and adding it to the messy, sometimes impressive, block tower.


Just going to get some ideas together, and get some ideas out.


The day before Thanksgiving, I'm feeling a blend of:

  • Accomplishment

  • Fatigue

  • Exhaustion

  • Relief

  • Time and Space, to think

Today's post is number 150. It's an odd milestone, but it comes at the right time.


Today's a good day to reflect on where I was, where I am, and where I'm going, as a writer.


150 days ago, I wasn't sure what to expect. I have lots of ideas, always. Some pass me by, some I start and stop, and some I start, with the best of intentions, complete, and then look back, remember I'd done it.


None have really been started with the idea that I was building a habit.





That's what I'm doing here. And that's why, as I write the 150th consecutive post, I can exhale, smile a bit, and be proud that I've done something for this long, that I've sustained it.


In this post and the next post (to be shipped on Thanksgiving Day), I will be writing about some of the things I've learned through this process, about myself, about where to look for inspiration, and about how to keep going, even on the toughest of days.


If you're read this (or have read this far down), hopefully you'll be able to apply some of these ideas to what you're focused on improving in your life. It likely isn't writing, but it's definitely something. I will be writing a bit about why and how I ditched this idea of "goals" to fully embrace "habits".


And while I'm not an expert, not by any means, I'm someone aiming to get better, to make mistakes and learn from them, but most importantly, to keep on going.


That's what's kind of neat about number 150. Hopefully something here resonates. But if there's nothing clear to take away, just know, the person typing this just cast another vote for the type of person who writes every day.


I'm building a system. And writing's one of several blocks in the tower, of living a good life.


Now it's your turn to pick up one block. What will you start building today?


Check out this week’s posts by visiting LearningLeadership365.


7 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page