top of page

You're writing a book? (83/365)

This question's been ringing in my mind for the better part of this week...in a good way.


It came from a leader I respect a great deal. Someone whose work I seek to imitate often. An award winning colleague, an all-round great guy, and also, a published author.


No, I'm not writing a book.


What I appreciated about this question is that is sparked a question in my mind.


Why am I doing this? Why am I writing?


I am NOT writing to:

  • gain fame or fortune.

  • get followers, likes, or retweets.

  • get attention (positive or negative) or accolades.

So why AM I writing then?

  • to think aloud, take risks, and even make mistakes.

  • to honor a commitment I made publicly.

  • to challenge myself to sustain a habit.

  • to grow my perspective.

  • to learn.


(Just kidding.)


In a conversation with a leadership coach, we discussed what defines a leader's legacy. What lasting impression will I leave after years or decades in one place in one role? This is an important question for any of us to ask ourselves.


His challenge to me: Write a letter to future students who will attend the school I lead.


At the time, I was intrigued by the idea. What would I write to the next generation of kids?


I never wrote that letter.


And I'm not sure why.


Maybe it's because I was unclear on how to articulate my leadership purpose.


Lucky for me, there's still time to act. And this is one leadership opportunity I refuse to miss.


365 days of shipping may just provide me with the content of that letter.


This process is clarifying my values and priorities, "non-negotiables" and "hills I'd die on" for kids, community, and the profession I love. It is and will continue to surface what matters.


In the process, I have and I will continue to do some disrupting, whether I intend to, or not.


Maybe my writing will disrupt your thinking. Or disrupt the system from within the system. Or disrupt my thinking and the leadership assertions I hold. Or (most likely) all of the above.


As of this post, that's why I write: legacy, intellectual disruption, and learning.


Maybe I'm writing a letter. I'm definitely thinking and learning. But I'm not writing a book.

12 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page