top of page

Writing to Learn, Learning to Write (104/365)

On June 28, 2021, I made a commitment...to myself. I set out to write and publish ("ship") my thoughts for 365 days straight. Building this habit hasn't always been easy. Some days, finding my flow is easy. Other times, time, ideas, and energy present obstacles. A focus on growth and self-improvement helps me stay focused. I'm just getting started. Unfortunately, many people don't make or keep this kind of commitment, to anything. But why?



Most people choose motion over action.

Even with this commitment, I've made mistakes, which include:

  • Mistake #1: I haven't clearly defined who I'm writing to or for.

  • Mistake #2: I haven't decided which categories I'm focused on.

  • Mistake #3: I haven't carved out and stuck to sacred writing time.

  • Mistake #4: I don't have a specific location in which I do my writing.

But I'm not worried and I refuse to allow myself to become frustrated. The reason? I know why I write: I am learning to write and writing to learn. And, I'm not stopping.

Having understanding, experience and confidence to build and sustain a habit helps me. I've carved out habits with exercise, hydration, and now, writing. However, if I were new to this, I hope to get this kind of advice:


Pay close attention to those around you and the challenges they face.

There's always someone nearby, learning, and needing help from others who've "been there". For example, as a "COVID-Era educator", the challenges faced and overcome significant. Sharing our struggle, strategies attempted and failed, and what's working...is helpful. Our challenges aren't unique to us. Approaching writing as helping seems to work.


Remember, sometimes we get to decide when and where something happens, and sometimes that opportunity reveals itself. So be patient.

The best gifts in life are usually those we aren't looking for and don't expect. There are people with ideas about reasons to write and strategies to get noticed. At the risk of being judged or criticized, I doesn't rely on endorphins that most do with social media. My satisfaction comes from formulating ideas before and during my writing process, and shipping them. If one person reads a piece I've shared and takes action towards improvement as a result, it was worth writing. Focus on what you give, not what you get.



Don't break the chain!

There are masters out doing this work every day, who amateurs like me follow. Natural talent and ability aside, the links repetition, consistency, and mastery are significant. Jerry Seinfeld, for example, firmly believes in the importance of a regimented creativity process, which you can listen in his interview with Tim Ferriss. Exploring the Seinfeld Strategy, we quickly learn, daily improvement isn't easy or fast, even for those, like Seinfeld, who make it look like it.


The difference? Putting in "the reps" and refusing to "break the chain".


Click here to visit the Learning Leadership 365 site, where you may read all posts I've written.

10 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page