top of page

Work-Life, What? (28/365)

There’s no such thing as work-life:


• balance

• integration

• fit, blend, harmony, or synergy


After years of trying (failing), I quit pursuing work-life…anything. I wasn’t going to “find it” and it certainly wasn’t going to “find me”.


So I went to the extreme.


Work is work. Life is life.


And they don’t intersect.


Enter a global shutdown.


Work and life dissolved into one another.


Time blurred, seeming to simultaneously stand still and speed up. Keeping track of hours, days, weekdays and even weekends was a struggle.


While experiencing an array of emotions at this time, we also were spared of anything “extra”. We realized, over time, who and what truly mattered.


Like pruning a rosebush, we we given an opportunity to to reduce and even eliminate “things” that sapped our time, energy, and attention.


Gradually returning to more “typical” times presented a rest, a chance to see life through a different lens.






I prefer “work-life rhythm”, because I know:

  • how my 168 weekly hours are budgeted, for my lifestyle.

  • which parts of my daily schedule, are within my control.

  • which aspects of my work-life are either structured or fluid.

  • the times of day and activities where I gain or expend energy.

  • that my best work problem solving occurs outside the workplace.

My daily personal priorities both guide and test these ideas every day. And so far, it seems to work for me. The key is to commit to discovering what works for each individual, testing it out, and being forgiving as you explore.


——-


The next few weeks will test my 365 day writing commitment. While I vow to write each day (with a pen, on paper) , my reliable access to technology may interfere with my ability to post each day. While on vacation, I’ve selected posts from my old blog site that were highly viewed or commented on, or that were simply some of my favorite pieces to write, because of the personal-professional growth I’ve experienced.


Thank you for reading and for granting me the flexibility to practice work-life rhythm.

8 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page