top of page

Remembering Adolescence (80/365)

While today was a fairly typical "day in the life", it started with a thought-provoking workshop. Among middle level colleagues across Long Island, we invested two hours together, discussing our challenges and learning about, what else, but middle school.


Thank you to Katie Powell and AMLE for an inspiring workshop that sparked lots of thinking!


It's been awhile since I thought of my time as an adolescent in grades five through eight.


Adolescent me (navigating middle school):


• Knew what I knew, and wasn’t overly-concerned with what I didn’t know.

• Was self-conscious and unsure of myself, but overly concerned which what others thought about me

• Was loyal to my family and friends

• Had bad hair and bad skin, was moody and not always nice to people, because of how I viewed myself



Adult me (working in middle school):


• Embraces every opportunity to learn or experience something new

• Is still, at times, unsure of myself. But I’m also forgiving and accepting of my imperfections, knowing I always put my best foot forward and aim to succeed.

• Is loyal to my closest family members and nearest and dearest friends. I’ll also do just about anything to help anyone, even a stranger or someone who has not extended that courtesy towards me.

• Cares less about my appearance, however, takes pride and care in being and healthy - physically, mentally, and emotionally - as possible. And this so I can be my best for others around me.

If I had to identify what, thematically, is the most significant difference between me as a teen and as an adult, I’d have to say it’s who I focus on. As a teen, it was myself. And as an adult, it’s others around me.





Not only am I a better person now. I’m also happily living a fulfilled life. This have everything to do with remembering that adolescent me, and reminding him, it's all going to be ok.


Maybe my prefrontal cortex has finally fully developed?

8 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page