top of page

Learning Experiments (58/365)

How do you learn best?


When was the last "learning experiment" you performed...on yourself?


These are questions I'm asking myself, daily, this summer.


For those who know me, personally and/or professionally, you may be scratching your head.


You may know me as a former (long-time) teacher. A veteran middle school principal. And/or you know me as a dedicated "family man", a guy who is all about his wife and kids.


I am each and all of those things. Plus, I am an avid, passionate, and voracious learner.


Part of my commitment to writing and publishing daily is refining my learning systems. Upgrading my learning menu has forced me to take a hard honest look at how I learn.




Podcasts are one of my menu items. For years, I did them all wrong.


First, I'd only subscribe to those in my field: education.


Then, I'd listen inattentively, while doing other tasks.


Last, I'd move on to the "next thing".


The problem?



Sure, my level of "in the moment" engagement was high.


Listening along, I'd nod in agreement. But then, I'd move on.


There was little attention towards processing thinking, and no accountability for learning.


Eric Sheninger, author of several best selling books (most recently, Disruptive Thinking in Our Classrooms: Classrooms: Preparing Learners for Their Future) recently wrote, "How to Make Learning Stick". This article, full of ideas on how to make learning more sticky for students, got me thinking about making professional learning more sticky for adults.


Adult learners, like me.


Self-directed professional learning has long been a priority. While I'm drifting a bit out of the "education lane" that we often wedges us, I remain in dedicated service to students, staff, and community. At the same time, I push myself, to stay properly nourished and sharp.


If you're reading this and we've shared any time together at unconferences like EdcampLI, (outside the traditional education lane), you've probably heard me talk about:

  • "cross-pollinating" learning

  • attaching an action to your intention

  • the importance of finding accountability partners or learning communities

Well, outside of a global pandemic sabotaging any chance of anyone meeting in any room short of a breakout room, these priorities remain securely in place. And (good news), they are available for anyone who seeks them out. They are free and there for the taking.


The best learning is communal. It's not an individual activity.

My Podcast Do-Over.


Today, I'm gaining a new appreciation for the power of podcast learning. 350 commute miles weekly give me time to learn from the generosity of others. Listening along, I can take notes on a memorable idea. The hosts and guests are accessible by email, tweet, or both. I'm often surprised at who monitors their email accounts. The responses remind me we're all curious and focused on improvement. Sharing a link with a friend, reading a weekly email blast, tweet thread, or blog post from podcasters are ways to expand my thinking.


Podcast hosts and their guests, while highly skilled in multiple areas, are also "real people". They're often down-to-earth, and always curious, hardworking, passionate about learning, and generously share their time, perspective, and expertise. While I aspire to be more like them, as I emulate qualities they model, I find myself smiling. We've "soft skills" in common.


What I most appreciate about who I've "met" while engaging differently through podcasts is that they remind me of the best teachers I've ever had. Those memorable ones I've had as young person, and later, those I've hired, coached, mentored, learned from and with, and worked alongside, in service to learners and learning. These teachers were curious learners themselves, and they drew out and celebrated these qualities in others, and in me.


These are the high-impact qualities I see in my favorite podcasters, facilitating learning in weekly learning conversations.

My latest learning experiment starts this week, while listening to my favorite podcast to start the new workweek. I'm eager see its impact on my writing and thinking, as I progress.


As Sahil Bloom shared with Ryan Hawk in this week's episode of The Learning Leader Show podcast:


“When you write, you think better. Writing is the best way to expose gaps in your thinking and where your thinking is falling short.”

This right here, is one of my 365 plus reasons, for writing.


What learning experiment will you try next...on yourself?


Visit #LearningLeadership365 to read more.

24 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page