top of page

"Leadership Has a Price" (86/365)

This is not an original idea of mine. I first heard this, it was while watching The Last Dance with my wife and basketball loving son in the spring amidst an uncertain global pandemic.


The timing of this miniseries came at a most unique time, as everyone, everywhere was facing leadership challenges and life circumstances we'd never navigated before. My original expectation in watching the series was that I'd reminisce about a vexing era to be a New York Knicks fan, especially at the hands of the dominant Chicago Bulls teams.


However, what I learned then, about leadership was an unexpected lifelong lesson I'd yet to go through in my career as an educational leader: Leadership has a price.


That's stayed with me. This morning during my pre-sunrise workout, I was thrilled to discover the next podcast in my queue was The Knowledge Project with Shane Parrish. This episode, with Chris Bosh, brought me back to a Twitter question, posed by Danny Miranda, seeking to find fascinating humans to interview. My response: Chris Bosh.


In this episode, Bosh mentions several things for leaders to consider, regardless of how things progress. The message in a nutshell: Keep going.



5 Leadership Lessons from Chris Bosh:

  1. Continue doing what you're supposed to do. If you lose, so what? No pity parties.

  2. Why look defeated if the game's not over? What do we need to do right now, to change the outcome? Look confident. Back straight, shoulders back, head up. Never slouch, even in a loss.

  3. Confidence comes from putting in the work. There will be obstacles, especially if you want to do something great.

  4. Nobody's looking. Nobody cares if I am going to the gym or not.

  5. When you play the game, play the game with joy.



Sure, leadership has a price. But it's worth it.

9 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page