top of page

Jumping in the Pool (99/365)

“The idea that we want to mitigate risk to zero before we act is really common and really costly.”

There have been times in my life, when I've felt paralyzed by a decision. Without having all of the information, it'd felt impossible for me to make a sound decision. This was especially true at times when I've been unable to see five steps ahead of my current circumstances.


This mindset has been, at times, paralyzing, as if I were standing in quicksand. Worse yet, I'd felt as though I'd allow others around me, to step into the quicksand or worse, sink into it by my side. The only thing that would prevent this was up to me: Make a decision.


As I work daily still to overcome this, to make quick yet well-informed decisions, the last two years of COVID-19 related challenges have tested me. And I've passed each test, and continue to do so. The test to avoid the quicksand isn't always easy. But I've done it.


This is one of the reasons I've put this challenge to myself, to write and ship daily, for 365 days. I knew it'd be challenging, and in all the right ways.


There are some days the words come easy, and flow from my mind , to my fingertips, to the page. And there are other days when I'm consumed with everyday responsibilities. These are the days I consider quitting, the days I wished I could have seen coming, five steps back.


These times remind me how important it is to share these moments. Of doubt. Vulnerability. Fear of failure. Discuss them. Write about them. Share these stories. Because when we do, we're reminded this is all part of a process, of growth, of resilience, of growing confidence.


When I woke up this morning, I didn't know what I'd write about. During the day, I had fleeting flashes of inspiration, that were only taken over by the day's distractions. And in the evening, I was all but ready, to call it quits. It was a good run. 98 days of shipping.


Then, my 12 year old son, who was between a soccer game and a basketball practice, announced he was jumping in the pool. That's when it hit me. That's what I had to do too.


So together, we jumped in the pool. It was somewhere between the 67 degree air hitting my skin and the 77 degree salt water hitting my skin that it dawned on me.


Sometimes, when you don't know what else to do, don't overthink it.


Jump in the pool.

9 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page