top of page

5 Writing Lessons From a Best Selling Author (118/365)



Anything worth learning starts with a good question. Ask Joe Ferraro, and it's a matter of learning how to develop and ask Damn Good Questions. I've been a longtime listener of Joe's One Percent Better Podcast, having enjoyed nearly all 200 + episodes. Today, my learning was taken to the next level, thanks to the question posed above, on Twitter.


The question above resonated when I read it, but I decided to let it marinate overnight. When I returned to it on Saturday morning, I noticed a response from Bryan Eisenberg:


I was not asked a question all day. Got one for me?

My first thought, on a quiet Saturday morning? This is why I appreciate Twitter. Joe asks a question. Bryan responds. I ask my first of a bunch of questions, from a generous expert.


And I learn. And I learn. And I learn.



This turned into a masterclass on writing, marketing, and customer service. Admittedly, these are topics beyond my areas of expertise. However, any time I can learn something, from someone as knowledgeable as Bryan Eisenberg, I will take that offer, time and again.


The following are five lessons I learned today, from our exchange:


Lesson 1:

Write early and often. Stop when necessary.





Lesson 2:

When a New York Times Best Seller Author asks you questions, answer them. And get ready to learn.




(Thanks for upping the ante, Joe. No pressure, Dennis.)


Lesson 3:

Write for them (the audience), not for me (the author).











Lesson 4:

Zoom in. Write small and write specific.





"For you to achieve your goals, visitors (customers, readers, etc.) must first achieve theirs. The best is when your goals and theirs align."



Lesson 5:

To find out what people want, ask them good questions.






A simple tip to learn what your customers [readers] want: Ask them good questions.

The themes of this conversation have been on my mind. Selfish versus selfless writing. Reasons to write. Writer's purpose. Lessons for writing, success measures and next steps.


The key? Ask good questions.

Thank you to Joe Ferraro and to Bryan Eisenberg for showing me the impact that asking good questions can have on learning from a good conversation, and leading one as well.


Click here to visit the Learning Leadership 365 site, where you may read all posts I've written.

18 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page